Do you even code, bro?

Greg Smith
3 min readOct 15, 2020

--

Photo by Arian Darvishi on Unsplash

Have you ever felt like you were not quite sure about your purpose or know what you want to be when you get older?

I have always found it somewhat of a challenge trying to figure out exactly what it is that I do. That was until I read an article by David Peterson, entitled “Why No Code Operations Will Be the Next Big Job in Tech”, and suddenly, I felt like I had an industry and a group to belong to.

Technology is a constantly evolving industry, and for a long time, coding has been the driving force behind the incredible development. This meant many people wondered how they would be able to create the magic that developers produce, without writing or utilizing pre-made code.

When I look back at my career to date, I think I’ve always been part of the no-code movement. I believe the reason that many people don’t know what’s possible with tech is not that they’re not coders, but because they really don’t understand what can be done.

Moreover, genuine productivity requires regular review, and there are processes and disciplines that you can learn only after spending a great deal of time using a certain type of technology. I believe there is a different way of thinking than in some of the more low-tech industries, but that doesn’t mean that they shouldn’t be privy to this world.

Solutions vs Software

For example, I have a client who regularly has a tough time keeping his calendar up to date and his workflow organized. He also answers every phone call that comes in, which results in his productivity decreasing as the day he had planned gets thrown off track.

Now while I could just suggest he tries Calendly and say “You’re welcome good luck”.

When it comes to automation and improving your workflow, it’s not just about the technology but also the discipline and the way you use the tech that determines your success. Take that a step further and learn how to add your Calendly links to your phones autosuggest or utilize a text expander so that you are only a few keystrokes away.

Automation and technology is a wonderful thing and can help to significantly improve the workflow of a company. However, to learn the complexities of what a design and development team does, it requires an in-depth level of knowledge.

Every customer service person that I hired at GoFundMe was trained to do onsite QA and write bug tickets in a way that the product team and developers could understand. I know for my brain, this method opened up a different level of understanding and helped provide me with clear ideas of what was actually possible within the world of technology.

“…this method opened up a different level of understanding and helped provide me with clear ideas of what was actually possible within the world of technology.

With the advent of programs like Zapier, text expanders, or even just spreadsheets, they have all changed the way that we work. They also opened my eyes drastically. As someone who was good at interviews and working with people, I could suddenly see that I could do anything with technology.

I think the no-code movement is a natural evolution of technology and will play a pivotal role in the future. If we can make programs smart enough, we will be able to elevate what any given human is good at.

It gives me so much excitement to know that the things that I love doing are set during a time when there is so much opportunity!

What do you think?

--

--

Greg Smith

I’m obsessed with figuring out a better way | Owner at Wheelhouse Solutions | GoFundMe Founding Team